On accidentally doing something right…

Image

Where did this kid come from?  Sometimes I’m SURE babies were switched at the hospital on that lovely spring day back in 1998.  Some other, not so lucky family, must be enjoying my “demon spawn” while I’m enjoying their little angel!  I’m going to go on record here and say I truly don’t want my real baby back.  Don’t call, don’t write and don’t show up at my door!  I will not be home.  I’ve raised 4 daughters and finally, FINALLY (on the final try), I got an easy one.  God, PLEASE don’t jinx me for saying this too soon.

Julia  just walked in the door from church.  And no, this is not the norm for anyone in my family.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a “spiritual” person and truly do believe in God.  I even consider myself a “Christian”, although I’d never be a poster child for the movement.  Somewhere along the line, my daughter just developed an interest in helping people.  Okay, for this I truly CAN take a little credit.  I’ve tried to instill in my children the importance of taking care of our elderly and helping the less fortunate… I just didn’t realize anyone was listening!  lol  Anyway,  she tells me that the best way to participate in “caring for her fellow man” is to associate herself with a local church and youth group.  Now,  I have reservations about some of the fanaticism related to a few churches in our little Midwestern town but I think we found one that even I can feel comfortable with.  Just not so comfortable that I would want to go WITH her for Weds night service.  I digress….  So I was saying that Julia just walked through the door and I asked her what she learned.  She tells me that the youth leader spoke about teenage girls and the importance of being single.  He quoted a scripture in the Bible (of COURSE I don’t know which one it is) and talked about how dating at too young of an age is a distraction.  I’m warming up to this guy!  Keep talking….  I asked J what HER opinion of tonight’s sermon is.  My heart melted when I heard her say, “Mom, I think he’s right.  There’s just so much I want to do with my life and especially while I’m young and single.  I just think I want to focus on what God wants me to do”.  At this point I have tears in my eyes and I want to go light a candle and say a prayer of thanksgiving!  lol  This child COULDN’T have come from me!  At her age, the only two thoughts in my head were 1.) what was I going to wear today and 2.) who I would be dating.  Which pretty much paved the way that my life would go.  I became pregnant at the age of 17 and graduated from high school 9 mos pregnant. I have lots of adorable pictures of me waddling down the isle to receive my diploma.  NOT cool.  Out of necessity,  I held 2 jobs while trying to get through college in order to support my child.  I’ve been married more than once.  It seems like my life has been spent trying to figure out how to support my children.  Definitely NOT the road I want my own daughters to tread.  To be fair, none of my girls have gone down my path BUT Julia’s 3 sisters have definitely given me a run for my money in too many other areas.  So far so good with Julia.   WHEW!   Maybe I did something right with this one?  Pretty sure this one’s a keeper!

5 thoughts on “On accidentally doing something right…

  1. You Michelle are an awesome woman and mother…that where she gets it from…you didn’t slew the others to contaminate her and neither did she…..enjoy her live life with her.but don’t question it just be blessed with it…love you

    • That is the absolute sweetest thing you just said! Thank you Carrie. That means a lot. My track record is 1 out of 4… not a very good batting average, eh? It’s not for lack of trying though. God Bless you girl!

  2. I can TOTALY hear you speaking this little story. And I know for a fact, from knowing you my entire life, that you are a wonderful, caring, and giving person. So that in turn means you are a wonderful mother! I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter what we try to teach our children, that at a certain age they shrug off all of our hard work and start to be who they think they should be weather right or wrong. God certainly granted what he thought you not only needed, but deserved.

    • (((HUGS))) GOD I love you girl! Your right about God granting me a break. I sure needed one. It may seem like she’s blowing smoke but you’d have to know Julia. She doesn’t say anything she doesn’t really mean (at least for now). She’s a girl of very few words. Again… not my kid! lmao I think you’re also right about these kids just doing what they eventually want to do no matter what they’re taught. It seems like they spend so much time showing us how they can rebel… it’s like cutting off their nose to spite their face, you know?

      Thanks so much sweet sister!

  3. Pingback: Espresso in a coffee pot… Confessions of a caffeine addict | And That's All She Wrote!

Leave a Reply

