I get it now, I really do…. My journey into Geekdom!

Watch this

This is so funny to me because I can relate! This grandpa couldn’t understand why his grandson wanted to play video games so much until the grandson showed him what all the fuss was about! He cracks me up with all the sounds he makes and to watch his excitement:-)

I get it now. I’ve been married to my husband for 10 years now and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve made fun of him for spending so much time playing WOW (World of Warcraft). It just seemed SO geeky to me. I felt like the weekends should have been used to go on adventures or do those chores around the house that he put off during the week because, and I quote, “I’m a working man and when I get home from work, all I want to do is relax (and play WOW)”. First of all, REALLY??? Most men are working men and they still do their chores around the house, don’t they? Every time I’d ask to go fishing or ask him to help me do a chore, he’d say “Not now, I’m in a dungeon!”. OMG! This infuriated me! WTH does “I’m in a dungeon mean”? I’d watch as he’d type away to his other online equally geeky friends and I wanted to choke the ever loving $hi% out of him! Actually, I can feel my blood pressure rising as I type this…. This went on for literally YEARS and I’m not going to lie, I seriously considered divorce. I was always more of a “socialite” or a primadonna, diva even. I didn’t sign up for the world of Geek! He didn’t present that side of him UNTIL we were safely married.

But then, I considered that this is not my FIRST marriage and I AM getting older. The grass may really NOT be greener… So I decided that if I can’t beat them, join them. I was going to see what this WOW thing was all about. I told hubby to sign me up and I started playing… It took me a LONG time to admit that I kind of liked it! The only thing I refused to do was enter a “dungeon”. Dungeons were where the geeks hung out. Well……. there came a day, not too long ago where I became bored with the game and hubby convinced me that it was because I haven’t been in a dungeon. I reluctantly went with hubby to that dark world of dungeons and demons and monsters. For those of you not familiar with WOW, it’s set up to where you can interact with other players. For example, hubby would be on one computer and I on the other but we’re both on the same computer screen because we’ve entered the world or dungeon together. And here’s where it gets sad… I am now a geek. I LOVED slaying all the monsters alongside my husband! We were a force to be reckoned with! PLUS I was GOOD at it.

Now I get what all the fuss was about and I’m not so quick to want to strangle him when he blows me off for “the dungeon”. Have a wonderful and geeky day;-)

8 thoughts on “I get it now, I really do…. My journey into Geekdom!

  1. You know, you do make quite a cute little Gnome Mage… LOL. You need to get back on there and let’s go kill some critters!

Leave a Reply

