Individual Amish Beef Potpies

I’m feeling a little under the weather right now, be that as it may, dinner still has to be made, right?  I mean, if we want to eat, that is.  So what do I do when my heart isn’t really in it?  All I know is that I have a package of ground beef and I’m pretty disappointed with the recipes on Pinterest lately… SO I dug out one of the 100,000 cookbooks (yes, I collect cook books the way I collect shoes!).  This recipe comes from The Homestyle Amish Kitchen Cookbook, Harvest House Publishers.  I grabbed my daughter and we went to work making:

Individual Beef Potpies

1 beef bouillon cube

2 cups boiling water

3 1/2 cups cooked beef or cooked hamburger (*I used 1 1/2 lb ground beef)

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 1/2 tsp salt (*I used 2 tsp)

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp pepper

1 package frozen mixed vegetables (*I used California Blend – Green Giant)

1/4 cup flour

pastry (see below)

Dissolve the bouillon cube in the 2 cups boiling water and add the beef, Worcestershire sauce, salt, sugar, paprika, and pepper.  Add the frozen vegetables and cook mixture for 5 minutes.  Combine the flour with enough water to make a thin paste and slowly add it into the meat and vegetable mixture.  Continue stirring and cooking until mixture thickens.  Keep warm.  When you have made the pastry, spoon the meat and vegetable mixture into 6 individual oven-proof custard cups or ramekins that are 6 to 8 ounces each.  Do not overfill (like I did!  lol)

Pastry

1 cup flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

3/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup shortening

4 TBSP cold water (I had to use about 8 TBSP)

Sift together the flour, cornmeal and salt.  Cut in the shortening with a pastry blender or fork until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Sprinkle the water by tablespoonfuls over the mixture and stir lightly with a fork until just damp.  Then, using your hands, work dough gently and as little as possible until the dough holds together and forms a ball.  You might need to add a bit more cold water.

Divide dough into 6 parts and roll each to form a ball large enough to fit over the top of the meat and vegetables in each baking cup.  (Julia and I patted them kind of flat like you’d do if you were making hamburger patties).  Turn under and crimp edges.  Make several cuts (or make a cross) in the pastry to allow steam to escape while baking.

Bake at 450 for 12-14 minutes

 

6 thoughts on “Individual Amish Beef Potpies

  1. They look great, I don’t suppose you want to pop over to England to make some? Thought not 😉 I will give these a try. I guess I could omit the sugar and they would still be tasty? (I try not to eat too much sugar)

    • I would LOVE to pop over to England! lol But you know, I’m really not sure WHY it called for such a little amount of sugar or sugar at all! Normally, I would have omitted the sugar but I’m trying to teach my daughter how to follow a recipe the right way (even if I did add more salt and even some garlic powder when she wasn’t watching! lol). They’d be great without the sugar though. I can’t see where it made any difference as far as the taste goes. Thanks for stopping by!

      • I wish I would have thought of the onion! Good idea:-) I find that I have to watch a lot of my Amish recipes because so many of them lack the flavor that I’m used to. Not sure why because I’d think if it comes from the Amish, it would naturally be delicious. I have to alter a lot of them though.

  2. I love pot pies. Since the weather in South Bend is going to be cold and snowy….I am thinking pot pie will hit the spot.

    • Yeah, I think you guys are a little colder than we are here in St. Louis! It’s like 9 degrees with the windchill factor out here now though 😦 But yeah… it’s a cold weather dish for sure! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

