Beef and Guinness Stew (Casserole)

The ONLY thing good about winter, in my humble opinion, is the excuse to load up on all the comfort food my little heart desires 🙂  Today is SO cold and gloomy in my little corner of the world.  I COULD get out of my bed comfort zone and drive around looking for something lovely to photograph but that would just require me to have to learn how to actually USE my expensive new camera.  I wouldn’t want to hurt my brain so I think I’ll just stay home and cook:-)  Besides, I’m pretty hungry.

This is a recipe I use often because it’s absolutely DELISH!  I didn’t even have to alter the recipe.  It comes from a cookbook I bought in a little Irish town in Kentucky (Too bad I can’t remember the name of the town!  lol).  Ireland’s Comfort Food, Pidgeon’s Press

Beef and Guinness Casserole (*but it’s more like a stew!)

Ingredients:

2 TBSP oil

2 lbs beef, trimmed and cubed (*I use stew meat from chuck roast)

2 TBSP tomato puree (*I use tomato paste)

1- 14 oz can tomatoes, chopped

2 tsp mustard (*I use Dijon)

1 TBSP Worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup Guinness beer (*I use any dark beer we happen to have)

3 3/4 cups chicken stock

pepper to taste

3 carrots, peeled and diced (*ok, I never dice my carrots)

2 large onions, peeled and sliced

4 mushrooms, sliced (*I don’t usually have mushrooms so it’s ok without)

1 tsp cornstarch mixed with 1 tbsp water

2 TBSP parsley

boiled potatoes or rice for serving

Heat oil in a large pot, add the meat (be sure and don’t over crowd or the meat won’t brown) and cook until brown on all sides.  Add the tomato puree, chopped tomatoes, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, Guinness, chicken stock and pepper; cover with lid and simmer for 20 minutes.  Add the vegetables, cover and cook an additional 40-50 minutes or until the meat is tender; add the cornstarch mixture to thicken if needed.  Sprinkle with parsley and serve over potatoes or rice.

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Beef and Guinness Stew (Casserole)

      • Lancashire hotpot

        I’d be really interested to see what you make of it, it is one of my favourite stews.

        I’ll try to do it in US measurements.
        2 large onion sliced thin,
        3 large carrots sliced thin,
        2lb potatoes sliced really thin,
        2lb diced lamb (neck, leg of chuck steak are all fine) – you can also use lamb chops,
        rosemary chopped (fresh is better, but packet is OK),
        4 cups of chicken stock, (you can use fresh if you have it or from a bouillon cube with hot water)
        a bit of oil for frying.
        black pepper

        We use a cast iron casserole dish that can go on the hob and in the oven. If you don’t have one of these then do the frying in a pan and then transfer to the casserole dish as instructed.

        fry off the lamb in some oil till brown. remove the meat from pan and set aside
        add a bit more oil and and fry off the onion and carrot on a low heat so that the onion goes soft and sweet rather than brown (if it goes brown you have the heat up too high) this should take about 10 minutes.
        if you are using a frying pan then transfer the carrots and onions to the casserole dish along with the meat. pour the chicken stock into the casserole, but use a little of it to ‘wash the frying pan’ getting all the meaty/onion flavour off it and into the casserole.
        if you have been doing the frying with a hob-proof casserole, then simply add the meat back to the casserole along with the stock.

        put the rosemary into the casserole, then lay a layer of potatoes on top of the stock/meat/carrots.
        sprinkle on some black pepper, and then add another layer of potatoes, keep adding pepper onto each new layer.
        depending on how big your casserole dish is depends on how many layers of potatoes.
        sprinkle a bit of oil on top of the final layer.
        put into the oven at 160c / 320f for 1 1/2 hours with the casserole lid on.
        take the lid off and put back into the oven for another hour. (this lets the top layer of potato go crispy)

        serve with vegetables.

        the low temperature helps the meat go melt in the mouth. The starch from the bottom layer of potatoes should have thickened the juice a bit by the end. If you find that this hasn’t happened next time you could add a bit of cornflour with the stock. likewise if you find that there is no juice left at all by the end then next time maybe add a bit more stock.

      • Thank you SO much for this! I’ll let you know FOR sure and even blog about it and give you credit 🙂 I’ll have to wait til I go grocery shopping… lamb isn’t a typical meat that we use in the midwestern USA. I’m going to have to do some calling to butcher shops to see where it’s available, actually. Isn’t it funny how different areas use different ingredients?

        Thanks for going through the trouble of converting to US measurements! You’re awesome!!!! Much love and have a fantastic weekend 🙂

  1. Pingback: Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits « And That's All She Wrote!

  2. Pingback: And That's All She Wrote!

    • I used a dutch oven… a pot on the stove. I don’t think this recipe is set up for a crock pot.

      Let me know what you think if you give this a try 🙂 We devoured this yesterday. It was SO good. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Pingback: Snow on the clover! | And That's All She Wrote!

Leave a Reply

