What’s for dessert? Orange Creamsicle Cake!

Sick of me yet?  You won’t be after you try this!  I had to bring you dessert, right? So for dinner, there’s Guinness Beef Stew and Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits.  We needed something sweet to top everything off!  Julia and I went to work baking a cake… Not just ANY cake though, more of a dessert, really.  I don’t mind saying that we are truly amazing!  This cake tastes JUST like an orange creamsicle!  It’s kind of a summery thing to do, really, but we need a little summer during this cold winter, don’t we? This is tested and delicious and I SO want to share a piece with you 😉

Orange Creamsicle Cake

Ingredients

1 box Duncan Hines  yellow butter recipe cake mix

3 large eggs

1/2 cup melted butter (not margarine)

1 cup water (for cake)

2 small pkgs Jello brand orange gelatin

1 pkg Jello brand instant vanilla pudding mix

1 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla

1 tub COOL WHIP non dairy whipped topping

INSTRUCTIONS

Combine Duncan Hines cake mix with 3 beaten eggs, 1 cup of water and cooled melted butter.  With electric mixer, mix on low speed for 1 minute and then high speed for 1 minute.  Pour batter into greased 9×13 baking pan.  Bake at 350 for around 21 minutes (or until inserted knife comes out clean).  Let cake cool completely and then poke holes all over cooled cake (I use the round side of a wooden spoon handle).  Mix 1 pkg orange jello with 1 cup boiling water and 1 cup cold water.  Pour over cooled cake.  Refrigerate for around four hours.  Mix pudding mix with cold milk, another package of orange jello, 2 tsp vanilla.  Whisk by hand until thickened.  Fold in Cool Whip.  Frost the cooled cake with pudding mixture.  Garnish with a sprig of mint and orange slices, if you want 🙂

10 thoughts on “What’s for dessert? Orange Creamsicle Cake!

    • HAHAHA You’re killing me Michael! Seriously, all the ones I’m posting are really good. At least you know they’re tried and tested, right? lol PLUS, I like butter… lots and lots of REAL butter.

    • I’ve been hearing all about this one too! I’ve wanted to try it ever since I’ve seen it on Pinterest. I kind of modified the recipe I found there. BUT this is really good, SWEET, but good. Let me know if you like it!

      • I will. I think I am going to make it this weekend.
        Thanks for sharing. I love to cook and trying new things.

  1. Made it this weekend for a cookout we had. AMAZING! Everyone loved it and my guest took some home and said they ate it for breakfast the next day. Make it way ahead of time. Gets better the 2nd and 3rd day if it last that long.

    • YAY! You’re right.. it is better the next day but I haven’t had it last longer than that. lol

      So glad you tried it and thanks for stopping by to let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

