Django Unchained, Movie Review

Good morning my lil blogging world!  I dreamed about this movie last night so I’m pretty sure THAT was a sign the blogging gods weren’t happy with me for not sharing with you my thoughts on Django Unchained :-/  

I’m going on record here and admitting that I really have a hard time sitting through a movie.  It’s not that I don’t ENJOY a good movie, I do, I really DO!  I’m pretty sure it’s because my ADD won’t let me pay attention for that long.  I start fidgeting and noticing the popcorn bag that the guy next to me is loudly crinkling.  Or the lady behind me, bless her heart, blowing her nose and sharing her every thought on the goings on of that particular movie.

Now that you have my movie going background, you can imagine how I was a little reluctant to sit through 165 minutes of Django!  I LOVE Quentin Tarantino in a very strange way.  He’s revolting but revolting in a way that my jaw stays dropped because I’m trying to figure out what it must be like to live inside his twisted mind!  lol  I’d heard so much about this movie so hubby and I decided to make a “date night” last Saturday and see it for ourselves.  Yay date night!

My thoughts on Django Unchained?  It was dark in a hilarious sort of way.  I think the humor made the subject matter (slavery) a little easier to tolerate.  Kind of like “A spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down”?  You know what I mean 🙂  The movie flowed quickly and kept even MY ADD addled brain’s interest!  I absolutely loved Jamie Fox as Django Freeman.  Leonardo DiCaprio was awesome, if despicable.  I think my very favorite character performance though was Christoph Waltz as the bounty hunter who freed Django!  He was SO funny, annoying and heroic!  I’d heard a lot about the cast of “stars” but nothing about Christoph Waltz.  The one thing about this movie that surprised me was that I expected it to be a whole lot more twisted and dark given that it’s a Quentin Tarantino movie.  It was more funny than twisted.  There’s a lot of blood and gore but you almost want to see the bad guys get what’s coming to them, trust me!  lol

I give this a strong 2 thumbs up!  If you haven’t seen it (Kelly), you NEED to see it BEFORE the Oscars!  😉

Here’s the story in a nutshell according to IMB:  With the help of a German bounty hunter, a freed slave sets out to rescue his wife from a brutal Mississippi plantation owner.

5 thoughts on “Django Unchained, Movie Review

  1. Yeah, this was crazy good. I don’t know how Quentin mixes such varying attributes in one movie so well, (blood and guts, humor, offensive language, intrigue, suspense) but he damn sure does.

    • OMG! The dinner scene had me CRAZY nervous too! At first I thought there was going to be a happy ending with everyone getting out alive and happy… I should have known! lol I was actually shocked and disgusted at Samuel Jackson’s character but he did a FANTASTIC job too! Hey, Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my little blog 😉

  2. Pingback: Lincoln … A better late than never movie review « And That's All She Wrote!

Leave a Reply

