Following your dreams…

“The purpose of life, after all, is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experiences.”

– Eleanor Roosevelt

Wow!  What a powerful statement!  We all have to admire someone who has the courage to pursue their dreams.  It takes a lot of courage to follow your dreams.  I know this because every time I think I’ll actually do what I think I may have been born to do, I end up talking myself out of it.  I’m not sure why.. maybe the fear of rejection.  Life is made up of so many disappointments and what if my dream is just another one of those disappointments?  But then I realize that living and trying is REALLY what life is all about.  Experience is what life is all about and with some experience comes rejection.

A bit ago, I started following a blog called Bucket List Publicationswritten by a lady named Lesley.  She had entered a contest called The Biggest Baddest Bucket List,
where she COULD win a trip of a lifetime.  Here’s what Lesley says she’ll win, “The prize is unbelievable. It’s an all-expense-paid trip around the world, $10,000 spending money during the trip, and $50,000 cash when you return home.”

Lesley is asking for people to promote her because this is one of her dreams.  Well, I did the minimum, I voted and Facebooked it.  Actually I voted every way I could.  Today, I have a message from her that asks me to do more.  lol  Now, I’ll have to admit that at first, I was like, Ummmm, NO.  That was selfish me talking 😉  I’m pretty friendly and I like to help anyone I can but I have my own dreams to follow and why would I want to give extra time to someone else’s dream?  I don’t really know her and I don’t see her anywhere except on that blog.

HOWEVER…  I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I went out on my back deck this morning and had my cup of coffee and I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  Here are my thoughts…  I admire her for having the courage to reach out to people she doesn’t know.  Could I do that?  I’m actually having a very hard time asking people to support my daughter in her attempt to raise money for a mission trip to Nicaragua!  My daughter is 14 and is working HARD to raise money.  I’m helping her but I have an aversion to asking others to put themselves out and help!  It’s time that THAT changes.  Rejection “aint nothin but a lil thang!”.

Bottom line is that I admire Lesley for reaching out.  It shows me that she’s really hungry to reach her dream and she’s working SO hard for that dream!  Did I mention that she’s also a young mom and has a baby at home?  If I can do ANYTHING to help this lady reach her goal, I’m going to do it.  It doesn’t take but a little time to ask, right?

Now the question is; Will YOU help Lesley?  All it takes is a little vote.  You don’t have to make a post like I did, if you’re not inclined BUT wouldn’t it be fun to know you had a part in seeing someone achieve the completion of the dream of a lifetime?  I’d personally like to see someone I even REMOTELY know win one of these things 😉

Here’s the link, you can watch her video, or not.  I did and it’s pretty cool!  Beside her video, there’s several ways you can vote and each one counts.  Lesley’s “My destination” page.

Thanks for reading and know that I’d more than likely do the same thing for you!  Depending on how hungry for your dream I feel you are!  lol

4 thoughts on “Following your dreams…

  1. Thank you! Thank you! A thousand times, thank you! You’re right; our dreams don’t have to remain dreams. My belief is the more unrealistic we are with our dreams and goals, the more we are able to achieve.

    I have a beautiful life filled with travel, adventure, love, and family but it’s because I made it that way. Most people assume I was born with money, but that’s not true. This year I was able to see Fiji, swim with whale sharks, pilot a helicopter, a jetpack, an airplane, and a biplane, ride in a hot air balloon, move to a new state ,and build a house, just to name a few, but I’m not rich, with money, and I work darn hard to make my life what it is. I went to university for 8 years and worked two jobs while I was there. I taught high school for another 8 years and worked another job on the side to pay for my experiences. Now, my blog is seeing enough success that I’ve been able to have some of these unbelievable experiences in exchange for media coverage. I made this life and now I have a chance to see another 25 countries and get $50,000. I can make that happen too.

    People send me there bucket lists regularly and I do everything in my power to make them a reality for others. You can see examples here: http://www.bucketlistpublications.com/category/we-make-it-happen/. I organized and found a way to offer these experiences for free for my readers. One reader drove a NASCAR and hung out in the pit with the crew, another reader went skydiving, and another went heliskiing. Now, I’m asking, shamelessly, for the support of others. I’m not embarrassed and I don’t feel badly about it because this is the community that is created in blogging and we can keep that going.

    I hope all of your dreams come true and you stop at nothing to make them happen.

    Have a great day and happy clicking,

    Lesley Carter
    http://www.mydestination.com/users/lesley/bbb#tab

    • I think you’re my new hero! Seriously, I’d wondered if you must have been born with at least SOME money or married into it. But I scratched that idea from my mind because it didn’t make sense. You wouldn’t be trying so hard to win this! You’d already have the money to do it yourself. I love that you’re resourceful and that you won’t take no for an answer and that you’re willing to get your hands dirty and work! I’ve worked 2 jobs while going to college and raising my daughter on my own, so I know what that’s like. I didn’t know anything other than “survival” though so until I reached my 30’s, I didn’t really get to experience life.

      My daughter is a teacher and has never been married. She has no children and she got the travel bug from me. She loves to do things like sky diving and has traveled and even done the hot air balloon ride. She reminds me so much of you and I can’t wait to one day share this with her to show her what she’s capable of. You inspire ME to remember what I’m capable of! Thanks for that.

      Thanks also for sharing the links. I’ll check them out 🙂

    • Oh you’re such a sweetheart! I think that post might have gotten a little more exposure. There’s quite a few “likes” so hopefully people actually went to vote. I’m hoping anyway. I know some of my fb friends voted! lol

      Anyway, it’s sure good to have you here Deborah! Looking forward to getting to know you better 🙂

Leave a Reply

