The simple things in life…. FRIED PORK CHOPS! lol

I haven’t been posting about food lately because, well, I’ve been uninspired.  Sadly, nothing I’ve found on Pinterest lately has been working. They look fantastic but taste dry or just plain gross. Recipes I see on WordPress don’t reach out and grab me (for the most part).  Maybe I’m in a slump?  Probably.

My slump is your gain!  God I crack myself up!  lol  No seriously, I don’t have a recipe that will blow your socks off but I DO have a great recipe for deep fried pork chops!  I don’t mind sharing with you my love for Ms Paula Deen, the Queen of Butter 🙂

 I’m not ashamed of my love for butter or simple food.  Hell, I pretty much love ALL types of food, it just has to taste great!  AND, BTW…  I’m not fat, in case you were wondering.  I think you should be able to enjoy a good pork cop (or stick of butter) in moderation 😉

Tonight, at MY house, we had deep fried pork chops (thanks to Paula) and garlic mashed potatoes (can I tell you that I use real cream in my taters?) with broccoli and LOTS of butter.  I wonder why my hubby won’t even try to lose weight?  Guess I’m not helping matters BUT!!!!  But why can’t you eat what you want sometimes and exercise a little so that you CAN enjoy a pork chop every now and then?  lol  BTW…  these were SO tasty and delicious.  It’s not like I needed a recipe for fried pork chops because this is something that I could do in my sleep.  I just wanted to see how OTHER people did chops.  Who better to consult than the Southern Lady and her Sons!?

Lady and Son’s Fried Pork Chops           Fried Pork Chops

Ingredients 

4 cups vegetable oil
8 (8-ounce) bone-in pork chops, about 1-inch thick
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1 1/4 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
3 teaspoon garlic powder
1 pinch cayenne pepper
1 pinch celery seeds
2/3 cup buttermilk  (*I used about a cup)
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

Heat oil in a deep skillet to 350 degrees F.

Arrange the pork chops in a large shallow dish. Season each pork chop, on both sides, with salt, black pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and celery seeds. Pour the buttermilk over the chops and turn to coat.

Place flour into a large shallow dish. Dip each pork chop into the flour mixture and coat well, shaking off the excess.

Using tongs, gently lower the chops into the deep skillet in batches if necessary. Fry for 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown, turning once. Transfer chops to a paper towel-lined pate to drain. Serve hot.

And there you go!  Simple, easy and it didn’t take a lot of time.  Probably the only downfall, besides the almost half a can of Crisco I used, was the amount of cleaning that my teenage munchkin had to do afterward.  lol  It’s not fun to do greasy dishes with wet flour dried to them 😦  BAD mom!  What do YOU do when you’re uninspired?

One thought on “The simple things in life…. FRIED PORK CHOPS! lol

  1. Pingback: Italian Herb Butter | And That's All She Wrote!

Leave a Reply

