Best CREAM of Potato with Bacon and Ham Soup EVER!!!!!

It’s still snowy and kind of yucky out.  ALTHOUGH that winter storm they tried to call a weather state of emergency?  Yeah… NOT SO MUCH!  I swear, the weather people had us prepared for the storm of the century and although it WAS more snow than St. Louis is used to having (in these past few years), the temperature rose to 37 F today and pretty much melted all that ice and snow they wanted to call the national guard about!  lol

what Julia’s lips look like after Hannah brutalized her

That’s okay.  We still had fun.  Julia (teenage munchkin) and her friend went to shovel driveways for the elderly people in the “hood”.  That was a blast in itself because Hannah (friend) knocked Julia (who’s a beast so please don’t feel sorry for her) in the mouth with a shovel.  NOW my little munchkin closely resembles Angelina Jolie!  One fat and bloody lip later, they came walking through the door, cold and hungry.  BTW…  These girls are like boys.  This is the way they play.  Earlier, Julia busted Hannah in the nose and they SWORE it was broken.  WHY did she do this?  Good question.  She says it was because Hannah scared her so she tackled Hannah to make her stop.  IDK.  I don’t get it.  lol  ANYHOO…  Hannah’s mama called to ask me about it. The sad thing is that I hadn’t heard a word about a broken nose (exaggeration)!  It happened in my house, granted it was in the basement but still!  The only way I found out about it is because Hannah “texted” her mother to tell her about it!  lol  Wow, I’m still not going to get that mother of the year award, huh?  Thank GOODNESS Hannah’s mom was okay and we’ve known each other ever since the girls were 7.

what Hannah looked like after Julia brutalized HER nose

Broken nose and busted lip deserves something special on this cold day, I think.  SOooooo…. I whipped up my favorite batch of potato soup.  Actually, this is EVERYONE’S favorite potato soup.  I have people telling me that it’s all they want for Christmas, as in for a Christmas present!  I’ve made half gallon sized mason jars full for family and friends to take home.  It’s THAT good.

Michelle’s Cream of Potato Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb bacon, cut up

4 cups potatoes, peeled and diced

1 large, sweet onion, diced

4 chicken bouillon cubes

2 tsp ground thyme (dried)

bacon grease

1 cup chopped ham

4 cups heavy whipping cream

2 cups milk

2 TBSP parsley flakes

2 TBSP cornstarch mixed in 1/4 cup water

Directions

Fry bacon in a Dutch oven or large soup pot until crisp.  Don’t drain bacon grease.  In the same pan, add potatoes, ham, onion, bouillon cubes and thyme.  Add just enough water to cover potatoes.  Bring mixture to a boil and then turn down heat, cover pot and simmer until potatoes are tender.  Drain potatoes in colander to remove water and return to pot.  Add cream, milk and parsley flakes to potatoes, bacon and ham.  Stir in cornstarch and water mixture for thickening.  Heat through and serve.

This is awesome with a little cheddar cheese added to your bowl!  If you don’t THINK you like potato soup, PLEASE try this one because chances are you’ll love it 🙂

10 thoughts on “Best CREAM of Potato with Bacon and Ham Soup EVER!!!!!

    • HAHA! You don’t like onion, eh? I love the taste. But with this recipe, there’s SO much room to play around with it. If you don’t like onion, don’t use it, although it pretty much dissentigrates. If you don’t like the heavy cream, use 2% milk. I would imagine it would taste a little different and probably not as good.

      DO give it a try and let me know what you think. I wish I could send you some! lol There’s never any leftovers though 🙂

    • Haha! I thought I was the only one who felt that way about thyme! It’s definitely my “go to” herb and one I’m NEVER without. I DO love cilantro but have a hard time keeping it. In the summertime, I grow it so it’s easy to come by but it goes bad so quickly when I have to buy it from the grocery store.

      Anyway, thyme is what gives this soup the distinctive flavor it has. Thyme AND bacon! lol

      • Thyme is the best! I even put it in panko when I make breaded chicken.

        I invested in a herb keeper for the fridge. It does keep the herbs much longer. I found mine for $15 on Zulily.com when they were running a special on them. It’s basically like a little canister you put water in the bottom and then stick the stems of the cilantro in it. Keeps them nice and happy for about 10 days. 🙂

      • Wow! I will definitely be checking out an herb keeper! I use herbs so much… wish I would have known they made something like that! lol Thanks for the heads up 🙂

Leave a Reply

