Aunt Arlene’s Easy Corn Souffle (as promised to Jessamine)

One of the awesome blogs I follow, Attempts in Domesticity (Trying to Emulate Martha Stewart in a Town Full of Hipsters), posted about some yummy corn and sausage griddle cakes.  I’d never thought of doing griddle cakes like this, have you?  Anyway, I gave her a “fun fact”, not that she asked!  lol  I told her that I make a yummy corn souffle and she asked for the link.  Ahhhh…. most of my recipes are family recipes and some of them come from my collection of a million cookbooks.  I collect cookbooks like I do shoes.

SO…  Jessamine, as promised, now that I’ve had a couple of cups of espresso on this beautiful Sunday morning, here’s our family’s recipe for corn souffle.  I know you’ll love it if you try it!  It’s something that I don’t usually make unless we’re having company OR it’s a holiday.  BUT, I think it would be good any day, and especially for Sunday dinner 🙂

(photo credit goes to aboutdishes.blogspot.com)

Aunt Arlene’s Easy Corn Souffle

Ingredients

1 small onion

1 green pepper

1 stick butter (use REAL butter)

1 can whole kernel corn

1 can cream style corn

1 box jiffy corn muffin mix

3 eggs, well beaten

1 cup sour cream

1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

Directions

Saute onion and green pepper in butter.  Add corn, beaten eggs and corn muffin mix.  Stir well and pour into prepared baking dish.  Mix sour cream and grated cheese together, spoon over corn mixture.  Bake at 350 F for 35 -40 minutes.

So here it is.  Now go over and check out Jessamine’s blog!  I think the hook for me was the part where she’s trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters!  TOO funny.

2 thoughts on “Aunt Arlene’s Easy Corn Souffle (as promised to Jessamine)

  1. Thank you for the shout-out and the recipe! I am so excited to make this, it sounds buttery and delicious! I also love that it calls for Jiffy mix because I always have like 5 boxes on hand. I’ll let you know when I make it and send some blog love back your way. =)

    • IKR???? Who ever knows what to do with Jiffy Mix! lol I TOO have 50 boxes on hand and don’t know why. When I make corn bread, I use real corn meal and make my own. I think I must buy them on sale and KEEP buying them on sale.

      I made this last night for Sunday dinner because I thought why only do it for holidays? lol It didn’t have a green pepper so I used a jar of pementos. It was yummy like that too! Let me know how you like it. Oh and you’re sure welcome for the shout out! You deserve it 😉

Leave a Reply

