What’s for breakfast? Baked blueberry and banana oatmeal!

BlueberryBakedOatmeal

After seeing SEVERAL food bloggers talk about how wonderful baked oatmeal is AND after seeing the post from Why Not Give It  A Try, I decided to try this.  I’ve got to admit that I wasn’t in a hurry to try it because oatmeal is just not one of my FAVORITE foods to eat.  BUT from everything I’ve been reading, even if you don’t care for the texture of oatmeal, you’ll probably like this one.  OH!  I’m SO glad I made this.  It’s delicious and it’s one of those things you make ahead of time for the upcoming week.  It will be breakfast OR dessert for a few days this upcoming week.

Baked Blueberry Banana Oatmeal

ingredients:

1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup chopped walnuts, divided
1/2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup maple syrup (I used sugar free)
1 cup milk (I used skim)
1 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2-3 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced
1 cup blueberries or raspberries, fresh or frozen, divided

directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375F.

2. Lightly grease a 2-quart baking dish. In a medium bowl, mix the oats, half of the walnuts, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Stir to combine. In a liquid measuring cup, combine the syrup, milk, egg, butter, and vanilla.

3. Spread the sliced bananas in a single layer over the bottom of the baking dish. Top with half of the berries. Sprinkle the dry oat mixture over the fruit in an even layer. Pour the liquid ingredients evenly over the oats.

4. Sprinkle the remaining nuts and berries over the top. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the top is browned and the oats have set. Let cool 10 minutes before serving.

Adapted from Sohowsittaste

8 thoughts on “What’s for breakfast? Baked blueberry and banana oatmeal!

      • You’re welcome. I was SO excited someone thought of me too and it DID make my day. I’m glad it made yours as well (and I didn’t follow all the guidelines — don’t feel obligated to!).

    • Okay, the award page isn’t there anymore 😦 I went to your home page too and can’t find it. The link is broken. Let me know when it gets back up again! Hope your lil teether is giving you a good day! lol

Leave a Reply

