Snow on the clover!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Hopefully the rest of the world is having GOOD weather and you can celebrate safely on NON ice slicked roads!  In Mid America, where I live, I woke up to snow and ice on our clover patches.  We’ll be staying indoors, where it’s safe and warm 🙂

To celebrate, in our own very simple way, I’ll be making my Irish Beef and Guinness Stew.  If you haven’t tried this recipe yet, today’s a VERY good day to give it a whirl!  Remember, it looks like this when you’re all done (and taste even better!).

Can’t stop there though!  I’ll be making a different potato dish other than the usual mashed!  lol  I get my Irish recipes from a cookbook called, Ireland’s Comfort Food (Pidgeon Press Publishing) and I haven’t come across a bad recipe yet!  The recipe’s I’ve tried have been PACKED with flavor.  That’s what I look for in a good recipe 🙂

*Note:  This recipe calls for Durrus Cheese and from what I’ve been learning, the closest that I can come to Durrus Cheese is Gouda or maybe even Swiss.  Today, I’ll probably use a mixture of Gouda and cheddar.

Roasted Red Potatoes with Bacon & Cheese recipe

Durrus & Potato Melt

2 pounds waxy potatoes, cubed (I use small red, quatered)

2 onions, finely chopped (I use sweet or Vidalia)

2 TBSP butter

1/2 LB bacon slices, cut into small pieces

1 LB Durrus Farmhouse Cheese, cut into cubes (I will use some Gouda and shredded cheddar)

8 oz tub of creme’ fraiche (I will use sour cream because that’s what I have)

butter, enough to butter an ovenproof dish

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Parboil the potatoes and set aside.  Meanwhile, saute the onions in butter until translucent or clear.  Remove from pan and set aside.  Meanwhile, fry the bacon until crisp and crumbly but not burnt.  Mix the creme fraiche, potatoes and Durrus cheese together.  Add onion and bacon, mix well and pour into a buttered, oven proof dish.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.  Place in preheated oven and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring gently, halfway through cooking.

What are YOU doing for St. Patrick’s day?

15 thoughts on “Snow on the clover!

    • Awww! Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you! I can send you some good ole Irish food virtually? lol

      I think Nebraska is always colder than it is here in Missouri. Maybe the wind off the fields? IDK. But are you guys having snow like we are? It’s weird because we really thought the snow had stopped for the year. However I DO remember some Easter’s when we’ve had snow on the ground 😦 I love snow… just not during the spring! lol

      • It is definitely colder up here. I’m from Sedalia,
        where my parents still live. They’ve had, for sure,
        a record amount of snow this year. Way more than us.

      • Oh I know Sedalia well! YES they’ve had SO much snow. My cousins live in KC and they’ve been snowed in TOO much this year. I’m from St. Louis and we never get the amount of snow Sedalia and KC get. We’re not THAT far away so I’m not sure why we don’t ever get as much. During the winter, I’m always jealous of them. lol

        Thanks for stopping by Uncle Tree! (love your name, btw… lol)

  1. Creme Fraiche AND bacon? Sign me up! This looks delicious! I made a big corned beef last weekend (early, I know!) then hubby and I had Rubens twice last week, so I’m simply celebrating the day with a Guinness. 🙂

    • My hubby had ALL this food PLUS several Guinness’s! lol I wish I could drink one but with my stomach being as bad as it is, drinking anything would be like throwing gasoline on a fire, they tell me. I’ve snuck and had a glass of wine from time to time but it hurt SO bad that it’s just not worth it 😦 Sucks to be me sometimes 😦

      I didn’t have creme fraiche but had sour cream. It was SO freaking delicious even with the sour cream. I’ll bet it would be amazing if I actually had the RIGHT ingredients. See, THIS is why I’m a food hoarder… funny that I STILL didn;t have what I needed.

  2. I am ready for warmer temps and sunny skies. I have been gone for a few weeks. I have been so, so busy. You are the first blog I went to reading. I made a healthy Shepherd’s Pie last night for dinner and after a corned beef sandwich on Friday, I decided that today I am going to eat healthier.

    • I KNOW you’ve been gone because I keep checking. I gotta tell you that I was a little worried that you weren’t okay… SO glad to hear from you 🙂 Hopefully you’ve been busy in a GOOD way?

      I’m going to be making Shepherd’s pie out of the leftover roast tomorrow. Are you making yours out of cauliflower? You KNOW I’m not going to be using a healthy recipe. lol GOOD for you that you’re so disciplined 🙂

    • Can you please post your address so that I can get some of this stew next St. Patrick’s Day? Actually we do something similar, but using lamb from our own farm instead of beef…

      • HAHAHA! I can send you some via email? lmbo I’ve wanted to try lamb for a while now. Actually, most of the Irish recipes tat I have call for lamb. It’s just not readily available here. You almost have to know someone who raises lamb on a farm.

        Thanks for reblogging! What an honor! And thanks for stopping by and visiting for a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

