A look at Americana

Like I mentioned in my last post, there’s a lot of devastation in America right now.  I don’t like a lot of what’s going on here politically but I do LOVE my country.  Sometimes, I think it’s good for all of us to remember what we love about living here.  When you think of America, what do you see in your mind?  What does it mean to you?

Here’s what it means to me.  This is America where I live and I’d protect her any way I was able 🙂

Image

Isn’t this beautiful?  It’s just a little farm I drive by all the time and most days take it for granted.  Love the plainness of the bars against the brilliant green of April!

Image

Image

Sandy Creek Covered Bridge.  She needs some work, eh?  This is actually a National Park that we visit and it’s only a mile or two from our back door.

Image

Image

(Entrance into our covered bridge.  It was closed to the public for repairs.  I’ve never been much for rule following so I didn’t give much thought to jumping the gate.  Obviously, neither did my girls.  lol  It was worth it to get these shots though)

Image

This is just a little farm getting ready to be flooded out.  I’m just loving the April colors again, even in the rain 🙂

Image

Just another farmer’s field.

Image

Just another house I drive by all the time.  My daughter tells me this is a “foster kid” house.  Kind of like an orphanage.  They just take care of a lot of homeless children who the courts have ordered into the “foster” system, for one reason or another.

Image

Sometimes even weeds can be pretty, right?

Image

I see this almost every day but have never stopped to take a picture.  Can you see the eagles nests in the trees?  They nest right by the flooded creek that I posted about in my last post.  Pretty dang cool!

Image

The farm below my house.  Right now it’s flooded.

Image

Here’s the reason I love to drive home!  This is probably the coolest barn I’ve seen ANYWHERE in the USA and it lives right below me.

Image

Some more weeds with muddy flood waters.

Image

Okay, this is another favorite of mine.  The 6 silo barn that used to be the old Pevely Dairy. People actually have transformed the ENORMOUS barn into living quarters.  A wedding was recently held there and it was beautiful!

Image

Really I have no words for how this one grabs my heart!  I might even have it framed.  It’s the front of the 6 silo barn.  Americana at it’s best!

15 thoughts on “A look at Americana

    • I thought so too. It was kind of fun driving around and just watching the logs float under the bridges. We had a good day, despite the inconvenience it caused some of our residents.

      Thank you!

    • Thanks Carla! Sometimes I’m ON but most times I’m OFF as far as photography goes. lol THIS day was a good “on” day and I loved what I came up with. Rainy days or cloudy days are the best for photography 🙂

  1. Absolutely stunning, I’ve always been fascinated with things across the pond, after all we are part of the English speaking fraternity. There is just one thing that never ceases to amaze me about both our countries and that is the number of people living in them who complain about where they live. Good for you singing the praises of your home town, long may you continue to love it and share those fantastic pictures from not a million miles away.

    • Awe! THANKS so much for that Dave! I don’t know why I thought you were from here too? I’m glad you cleared that up for me! lol Yeah, it amazes me too how people will only complain. To be fair, there’s a lot to complain about with the state of affairs over here but it’s still our country and there’s SO much for us to be thankful for. All you have to do is walk outside your door and take a look around:-)

      That was an awesome comment and I thank you again!

    • Oh I’m SO glad you liked them! I liked the barns too 🙂 I had so much fun with my girls just driving around and looking for stuff to take pics of! We all looked like drowned rats afterwards though because it was storming so hard. lol

  2. I love the colors in these, it’s just so pretty. You live in a beautiful area, lucky you. I can’t wait to get out of this city, back to a place where I can walk without being surrounded by thousands of strangers in every direction. Just a little over a month now, just a bit longer.

    • Thank you. I love where I live. Of course, some days I’d love to not live near a TRAILER. lol I live in a rural area where there are no zoning laws. So we have houses next door to trailers. Ughh… not that I think I’m better than someone who lives in a trailer but it would be nice if they’d at least take CARE of their trailer. lol Does this mean I’m a snob?

      I grew up the first 9 years in the city of St. Louis. When I was a teenager with a baby, I moved back to the city to work. I absolutely hated the city. I love to visit the city and can spend days there, I just don’t like living there. I like the freedom of the country. Everyone minds their own business 🙂 What part of the US do you live in? By now you know I’m nosy and am very open. By now I know you’re NOT very open so if there’s ever anything I ask or say to you that offends, know this is just how I am and don’t mean to stp on anyone’s toes… especially yours. You can answer or don’t … you won’t hurt my feelings. I don’t want to or mean to hurt yours either.

      I’m LOVING my new friend and I don’t want to lose her because i’m nosy or loud! Like your parents. hehehe

      • Ah, no worries. I may not volunteer a lot of information, but I’ll answer most questions posed to me. There are a few things about my family that I won’t answer on my own blog, primarily because my family has access to that blog, since for some irrational reason I still try to connect with them. Currently we live in Orlando, FL. No seasons, no space, no fresh air, and way too many people. We’re moving back to Tucson, AZ. Which has lots of open space and wilderness, just the way I like it. The zoning laws in Orlando must be pretty strange or non-existent too since we’ve seen multi-million dollar homes side by side with trailers and run-down sheds that pretend to be houses. My personal favorite was the creepy day-care directly across the street from a juvenile detention center. I guess that’s one way of keeping the kids in line, just threaten to send ’em across the street if they act up ;).

      • Dang! That IS creepy about the daycare.

        I’ve been to Orlando many times :- ) We usually rent a house in a gated type community when we go. I’ve seen some pretty crappy neighborhoods there.

        A very dear friend from hs lives in Tuscon! I’ve never been but she keeps trying to get me to go visit her. I really WANT to but every time it’s possible, my health takes a turn for the bad. Her pictures are so beautiful. I hope you get there soon!

      • Orlando isn’t working for me, or for any of us for that matter. It’s a claustrophobic feeling sort of place. The theme parks I enjoy, but not enough to live here.
        Tucson is a wonderful and beautiful place. Most of AZ is. I really hope you get a chance to visit there sometime. It’s well worth it.

      • Yeah, I don’t think I’d like to live next to all the theme parks. WAY too many people passing through who don’t live there so naturally, they don’t respect the atmosphere the way someone who lives there would. I would imagine there’d be a lot of vacation trash too. IDK. I can see how you’d say it was claustrophobic. Hopefully you’ll get to move sooner than later 🙂

  3. Pingback: On a Sunday Drive and in appreciation of “Earth Day”! | And That's All She Wrote!

Leave a Reply

