Roasted Red Pepper Pasta & Broiled Shrimp

And in the midst of ALL this chaos… I’ve still had time to cook!  Sometimes take out just is NOT satisfying and Lord knows we’ve been doing way too much take out lately!  

Last night I made the most amazing dinner.  I’m almost ashamed to admit that I’ve always steered away from this roasted red pepper sauce because it seems like anything you have to use a food processor with or a blender… well, it’s too complicated and creates too many dishes to wash later.  Yeah, I’m lazy.. so what?  lol  This is WELL worth the extra step of pureeing the roasted red peppers and if you decide to make this, you’ll be SO thankful!  Or maybe you’ve already tried it.  Either way, it was new to me so I have to share 🙂

Oh and as a side note, teenage munchkin had one of her bff’s over (another daughter to me) last night who is SO hard to please with food.  Usually I have to end up making her a grilled cheese or throw in a frozen pizza because she won’t eat anything new.  HOWEVER and Thank you JESUS, she LOVED this dish and asked me to keep it handy to make it for her again.  Anything Shelby approved is a hit in OUR house 😉

 

Roasted Red Pepper Pasta and Shrimp

Ingredients:

1 lb large shrimp, raw and in the shell

16 oz pasta (I used Penne)

12 oz jar of roasted red peppers with juice

1 TBSP Olive oil

5 cloves minced garlic

2 cups heavy cream

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1/2 cup Romano or Parmesan cheese

1 3 to 4 oz jar of Peproncinis  (Optional for garnish)

Fresh parsley for garnish

Directions:

1.  Shell and devein the shrimp.  Spray a broiling or grilling pan with Pam and place shrimp (separated well) on pan.  Cook in oven on BROIL just until shrimp turns pink.  Immediately take off of pan (to stop cooking process) an place on a plate to cool.

2.  Cook and drain pasta.

3.  While pasta is cooking, remove about 1 roasted red pepper from jar.  Chop and set aside.  Place remaining red peppers with their juice into blender and puree.

4.  Heat olive oil in large non stick skillet.  Saute garlic.  Cook and stir on medium heat for about 2 minutes.  Be sure not to get too brown or it will taste burnt and bitter.

5.  Add the pepper puree, cream, salt and pepper.  Cook on medium heat, stirring until hot bubbly and thick.  About 6 minutes.

6.  Stir in cheese and parsley.  Stir until cheese is melted.  Add shrimp for a second until it’s warm again.  

7.  Add sauce to the pasta and mix.  Top with Peproncinis if you want and extra cheese.

*Tip:  Always boil pasta in salted water so that the pasta has flavor.  When I drain the pasta, I immediately add back into the pan and toss with a little olive oil.  I then add a little Parmesan Cheese to the pasta BEFORE the sauce is added so that the cheese sticks to the pasta.  

 

 

13 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper Pasta & Broiled Shrimp

  1. I love shrimps… anyhow and any time! 🙂 I had some grilled yesterday with rice noodles & coco milk sauce, total yummy! 🙂

  2. Sounds yummy! Looks great too…. mmmmm…… As soon as I talk myself into making something that takes more than ten minutes, I’m ALL over this.

    • You know what? It actually did take about ten minutes. If you don’t take in account that I had to peel the shrimp… but you can buy pre cooked shrimp that you only have to unthaw. lol I couldn’t believe how easy it was other than that though. I cyber send you the left overs the next time! lol 😉

      • Oh me too…. but I figured I have to do at least ONE thing right or better than most… so hubby has a reason to keep me around. So I cook. PLUS I like to eat and it’s too expensive to go out to eat the kinds of foods that I like to eat all the time. lol

      • I have a sign in my kitchen that says “I kiss better than I cook.” He didn’t marry me for my cooking! LOL

      • HAHA!!!!! That’s funny 😉 I have a sign in my kitchen that says “Help me Lord, the devil wants me fat”……. I’ve had it there since I WAS fat. Now that I’m 120 lbs, I have people asking me why I have that in my kitchen. lol I DO love food though!

      • Maybe you keep it for the day when the Devil DOES want you fat again! I don’t like to cook. I work at home and I’ll work through meals because I don’t want to fix anything. Talk about lazy!

    • Lisa, this one’s easy and it’s probably one of my all time faves 🙂 YUMMO, as Rachel Ray would say 😉

      I WISH I was brilliant but THANK YOU!!!!

Leave a comment